Koalaty Cleaners Blog

KOALATY CLEANERS – WHAT’S IN A NAME

leave a comment »

People ask me all the time, “Where did you come up with Koalaty Cleaners?”  Some people think I must be from Australia….no, or that it’s a cool twist on the word “Quality”…..no.

The truth of the matter is……

When I was thinking of opening the dry cleaners up again a few years ago, I often passed by a park near the site of my old storefront.  The name of the park was Koalaty Park.  I thought that was kind of a catchy, interesting name and thought the park must be named after someone with the last name of “Koalaty”.  After passing that park more times than I could count, curiosity got the best of me, so I decided to research the park name and see who “Koalaty” was.  I was surprised at my findings…….

Seems there is an educational approach that originated in New Zealand called Koalaty Kid.  The basics of this student centered approach encourages continuous improvement by applying the principles of total quality to the classroom and the management of schools.  The approach is based on partnerships among schools, business sponsors, parents and others involved in the community.  Koalaty Kid strives to create an environment that fosters enthusiasm for learning and instills a sense of responsibility, accountability and self esteem in the students.  I was surprised to learn that two of the public schools in Southlake participate in this approach to learning…therefore the name of the park – Koalaty Park.

I liked the catchiness of the name….playing off the Australian mystery, the “Quality” possibility, but also liked the Koalaty Kid program.  I liked it so much that I set up the Koalaty CARES! Program at the cleaners where 3% of your total cleaning bill is donated to the school, organization or charity of your choice.  Be sure to let us know where we can direct these funds for you.

Now, as for the mascot – KC the Koala…..well, he was just so cute, who could resist?  Stay tuned for more on KC in the upcoming weeks…..things are going on in his life and you don’t want to miss out!

Written by koalatycleaners

August 23, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

